Having the “I wants”…

20130919-094630.jpg

I have realised over the last week that I have a case of the “I wants”… Where it came from and what sparked it I have no idea. I am learning that contentment is a matter of choices, decisions, reflective living and having a grateful heart.

All of a sudden the iPhone I’ve had just a few months doesn’t seem as sparkly and useful since there is talk of a new one. I now want a new everything…cars, dogs, clothes…its like the discontent is universal. I am thinking out loud here as I type because I don’t know where this started at all. A few weeks ago I needed to fix up the front lawn area, and that resulted in getting some new paving (well, its not there yet, but the order is in).

Since then it seems discontent has settled in. Its rather disconcerting to realise that for no reason at all you’re suddenly not satisfied with things. I am sure that somewhere its about the advertising materials that are non-stop around us, I think being in a training recess (instead of being out daily its only a few times a week) has contributed to a mental boredom, and being around others who seem unhappy all contributed to it.

My plan? I plan to do some reflective thinking to clarify my emotional state. Then I plan to work on being grateful for what I have (which is heaps!). I know I can change this, but being aware is the first step.

Explore posts in the same categories: Take time to think

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Having the “I wants”…”

  1. James davy Says:

    I think it also has a lot to do with the type of people you have to deal with in ” normal” life. Especially politicians and people in business

  2. Sandi Says:

    Maybe it needs to be an awareness that should be given a little ‘jog’ along with society in general – I sometimes have to pull myself up by the boot straps – do I just want this or is it something I need???


Leave a Reply

