In my life…

"All these places have their moments" - The Beatles

“All these places have their moments” – The Beatles

This past year my life has had a number of significant moments, and it occurs to me that each of them happened under stormy, dark clouds. For those that missed is, I completed Ironman 70.3 although I was sick on the day I managed a time of 7 hours 39 minutes, which was not too shabby given the illness. I learned to push through, to put in the training and see how far my body could go. I got a lovely medal too!

Its also been a year of loss. Loss of friendships, loss of loved ones and loss of time. Friendships come and go in our lives, and while each person leaves an indelible mark on us, at some stage they go in a different direction. Learning to let go and let them be is important. Hanging onto them forces us to be anchored in a place that holds us back. If we can’t grow together, we need to learn to let go. Its hard.

The repeated losses of loved ones over the last year left me in a place of feeling a little disconnected. Each death reminded me to live life to the fullest, however processing the losses one after another left me also feeling stunned (as in hit by a bus). I took some time out to process and accept the losses, to say my personal goodbyes and learn to live well amidst them. Too frequently people rush goodbyes and try to keep moving at the same rapid pace of life, this doesn’t allow healing. I encourage you to grieve well and say goodbye in your own way.

You may need a ritual, you may need to plant a new tree, you may need to write in your journal for hours on end, you may need to talk to a psychologist….do what you need to do, take the time you need to heal.

I feel well again. I am surrounded by wonderful people and will enjoy the next season of life. The clouds are receding and the sunshine is coming through… keep tuned in, I will write more!

Explore posts in the same categories: Relationships

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

