freedom…

OK, so I understand that there are varieties of cultures and beliefs around the world. I live in a multicultural society, surrounded by nations just here in my street. Within 6 houses: Burmese, Malay, English, South African, Indian, Bangladeshi. Yes, let’s encourage culture, let’s celebrate diversity!

I have to ask though, what happens to the freedom of people? When I think about women being unable to leave the home unless they are covered over (not by their own choice) or face imprisonment, I get mad! If a woman wants to cover her head and face before going out, fine. However, if she does it because it is imposed by someone else, then there is no freedom.

Children and the poor are frequently forced into labour without any freedom of choice. THERE ARE MORE THAN 30 MILLION SLAVES IN THE WORLD TODAY, MORE THAN AT ANY OTHER POINT IN HUMAN HISTORY. It is time to change our world. I am asking you to join me, together we can do it.

Some ideas:
Get an app that tells you whether the product you are about to buy has been produced using slave labour: http://www.free2work.org/

Get involved with organizations that are doing good work in the fight for freedom:
http://www.thea21campaign.org/the-problem.php
http://www.notforsalecampaign.org/

I was going to write a blog about my new “bootcamp for my life”. Yes, doing a run-through of life and stuff I have decided its time for a few changes. However, so much more important than my changes are the changes we can make together…if we will. Let’s change the world together!

Explore posts in the same categories: The power of reflection

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “freedom…”


  1. Hello there! I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog because I am inspired by your thoughts and ideas. Most of all about your passion to make this world a better place! Let’s indeed change the world together! Hope to get to know you more! Warmest greetings from a Malaysian living in Finland, Sharon

    • angelvalerie Says:

      Hello Sharon, Thanks for stopping by and reading 🙂 Its always good to get some feedback and interact with others on ways to make the world a better place. What a legacy we get to leave, to say we left things better than we found them!


Leave a Reply

