More on contentment

After I wrote the last post, I read at least two other blogs with comments on contentment.  Obviously that has been a bit of a theme for me lately.  And it got me to thinking… just how do we go about being content?

One of the big things I believe is being satisfied with who we are.  If we are clear about our values, our beliefs and our choices, if we choose to live authentically within that framework then I think contentment somehow finds us.  It is when we are chasing around after things trying to be more, seem to be bigger or more important than we are, that discontent grows.

Which leads to the question: how do I know what I value?  Everyone says they value honesty, but many of those people are not honest.  Lots of people say they value charity, but few give significantly on a regular basis.  I think it worthwhile sitting down with a pen and paper and listing those things that you believe in, writing down those things you think are important.  Often people say that the way to clarify this is to think about what you would want your obituary to say.  Mmmm, who would be at your funeral?  What would they be saying?

Once you have cleared your thinking about your values, begin to examine your actions.  If I saw you on the average day, would I be able to tell your values from watching your actions?  If the answer is yes, then you are on your way to the contented life.

So, while you sit down with a coffee, pen and paper to contemplate these questions, I will head off to enjoy some sunshine and rejoice in all the blessings I have been showered with.  Shalom.

Explore posts in the same categories: The power of reflection

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “More on contentment”

  1. Emily Says:

    I like that funeral thought – I wonder if anyone would think to say “well, they kept up with the Jonses”.

    I’m going to try that listing exercise today. 🙂

  2. angelvalerie Says:

    Let me know how it goes. I always liked that old car sticker “he who dies with the most toys, still dies”…gives us some perspective, huh?

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. Lu Says:

    I read this book about managing money, and I really liked it because it pointed out how what we say we value doesn’t always match what our actions show we value (specifically what we spend our money on – very telling).

    Well this post got me thinking that’s for sure!

    Thanks for stopping by and checking out my gratitude page.

  4. angelvalerie Says:

    Hi Lu, yes money can often confuse who we are, what we value…its funny that way.
    I am going to try the gratitude diary here at home too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

