honouring others…

Viv and myself

Life is unpredictable, and often we find that people we thought would be with us through ups and downs are just not there. There are many reasons for this, and it is not always by their own choice. There are times that people will be taken by disease. Everyone that comes through our lives are a gift, not always gifts we want or appreciate, but they are gifts nonetheless. I think it important to learn how to honour others.

My childhood and teenage friend Vivienne was great. She was confident and bright, she was really sporty and had a great sense of humour. Alas, before our 30th birthdays she was taken by breast cancer. In the intervening years I had moved countries several times, and although I never forgot her, we lost touch as adults. Finally I joined the online social networking scene, and then started to reconnect with old friends. It was too late for Viv.

Considering the important place she held in my life, I wanted to do something to honour her life. So, each year I do Triathlon Pink (http://www.triathlonpink.com.au/) and raise funds for research into beating breast cancer.

I have many other friends and people who have been significant in my life. One of the important things I do is to let them know that they are important to me. I try to talk to them or send a card or email to let them know I appreciate them. When they are no longer in my life I realise that I honour them by taking the best of what I learned from them and living that. Some have left idioms, others books or movies, some habits or ideas, opinions or reflections… each person in my life has left me with a gift. I am learning to appreciate each one.

How do you honour people in your life?

Explore posts in the same categories: Take time to think

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

